About Mila

Mila > About Mila

A community of scientists and interdisciplinary teams committed to advancing artificial intelligence for the benefit of all

Mila – Quebec Artificial Intelligence Institute, is recognized worldwide for its major contributions to AI.

Today, the Mila community boasts the largest concentration of deep learning academic researchers globally. The institute is recognized for its expertise and significant contributions in areas such as modeling language, machine translation, object recognition and generative models.

Since its inception, Mila focuses its mission on core research areas such as health, environment and climate change, and AI ethics. Mila extends its expertise and leadership in AI to deliver advances that will benefit all of society.

Research carried out at Mila is conducted using an Open Science approach to promote collaboration and foster knowledge transfer.

A major university research centre

Mila is the result of a unique collaboration between Université de Montréal and McGill University, in close collaboration with Polytechnique Montréal and HEC Montréal. The institute also hosts professors from Université Laval in Quebec City, Université Sherbrooke and the École de technologie supérieure in Montreal, bringing together over 900 individuals advancing AI for the benefit of all. Since 2017, Mila and its sister institutes, Amii (Alberta) and Vector (Ontario), play a central role in the Pan-Canadian Artificial Intelligence Strategy–the first national AI strategy in the world–led by CIFAR.

Annual contribution
  • over 150 applied and fundamental research projects
  • 700 students, interns and research assistants trained
  • close to 300 scientific publications

An innovation hub for industry

Mila is a vector for development for industry partners here and abroad thanks to applied research and its large talent pool. The technology transfer teams at Mila develop AI solutions tailored to the specific needs of organizations that have the potential to accelerate their innovations.

Annual contribution
  • nearly 90 industry partners
  • nearly 40 startups
  • 90 scientific publications co-authored with industry members
  • ten applied research collaborations
  • a dozen targeted interventions with SMEs

History

A vibrant ecosystem

Founded by Professor Yoshua Bengio, Mila is now the world’s largest academic research center for deep learning.

Yoshua Bengio, a Quebec researcher who specializes in artificial intelligence at the Université de Montréal, is one of the precursors of deep learning. In 1993, he founded a research lab to establish a community of high calibre researchers who share the same ethical vision for the development of AI and a common interest in the advancement of technology with extraordinary potential for society.

In 2017, Mila expands the scope of its activities through a collaboration between Université de Montréal and McGill University, working closely with Polytechnique Montréal and HEC Montréal. Today, Mila brings together a community of professors, student researchers (master’s, doctorate, postdoctorate, interns, visitors), students (professional master’s, specialized graduate degree), industry partners and startups working in AI.

Mila acquired the status of non-profit organization in 2018 and inaugurated its new premises in 2019 in an effervescent innovation-oriented Montreal neighborhood: the Mile-Ex. The city ranks first in Canada in AI university research, with annual funding of more than $1.34 billion.

Mission, values, pillars

A unique AI mission

Mila’s mission is to be a global pole for scientific advances that inspires innovation and the progress of AI for the benefit of all.

Mila accelerates AI innovation for all communities

Mila is built on values of collaboration, excellence and ethics.

Four strategic pillars

Mila is governed by four strategic pillars that guide its decision-making and commitment.


AI Talent

Attract, train and retain in Quebec a diversified talent pool recognized globally for their high-level expertise.


Cutting-edge research

Achieve the highest levels of scientific leadership in the development of AI.


AI Adoption

Contribute to partnerships, projects and initiatives to accelerate the deployment and adoption of AI.


Social Influence

Develop perspectives on the potential of AI and the issues related to its use.

À propos de Mila

Mila > À propos de Mila

Une communauté de scientifiques et d’équipes interdisciplinaires engagée à faire progresser l’intelligence artificielle pour le bien commun

Mila – Institut québécois d’intelligence artificielle – est reconnu mondialement pour ses contributions majeures en IA.

La communauté de Mila comprend aujourd’hui la plus grande concentration de chercheur·e·s universitaires en apprentissage profond (deep learning) au monde. L’institut se distingue par son expertise et ses innovations en langage de modélisation, en traduction automatique, en reconnaissance d’objets et en modèles génératifs.

Depuis sa création, Mila oriente sa mission vers des pôles de recherche fondamentaux comme la santé, l’environnement et les changements climatiques, ainsi que l’éthique de l’IA. Mila étend son expertise et son leadership en matière d’IA pour déployer des avancées qui profiteront à toute la société.

À Mila, les recherches s’effectuent en mode « science ouverte ». L’objectif : promouvoir la collaboration et favoriser le transfert de connaissances.

Un haut lieu de recherche universitaire

Mila est le fruit d’une collaboration unique entre l’Université de Montréal et l’Université McGill, en lien étroit avec Polytechnique Montréal et HEC Montréal. L’institut accueille également des professeur·e·s de l’Université Laval à Québec, de l’Université de Sherbrooke et de l’École de technologie supérieure à Montréal et rassemble plus de 900 personnes qui stimulent l’essor de l’IA au bénéfice de tous et de toutes. Depuis 2017, Mila et ses instituts homologues Amii (Alberta) et Vector (Ontario) occupent un rôle central dans la Stratégie pancanadienne en matière d’intelligence artificielle – la première stratégie nationale d’IA au monde – dirigée par CIFAR.

Contribution annuelle
  • plus de 150 projets de recherche appliquée et fondamentale
  • formation de 700 étudiant·e·s, stagiaires et assistant·e·s de recherche
  • près de 300 articles scientifiques

Une plaque tournante de l’innovation pour l’industrie

Mila est un vecteur de développement pour les partenaires industriels d’ici et d’ailleurs, notamment grâce à la recherche appliquée et à son important bassin de talents. Les équipes de transfert technologique de Mila développent également des solutions en IA adaptées aux besoins spécifiques des organisations qui ont le potentiel d’accélérer leurs innovations.

Contribution annuelle
  • près de 90 partenaires industriels – près de 40 startups
  • 90 articles coécrits avec des collaborateurs industriels
  • une dizaine de collaborations en recherche appliquée
  • une douzaine d’interventions ciblées avec des PME

Histoire

Un écosystème dynamique

Fondé par le professeur Yoshua Bengio, Mila est aujourd’hui le plus grand centre de recherche universitaire en apprentissage profond au monde.

Yoshua Bengio, chercheur québécois spécialisé en intelligence artificielle à l’Université de Montréal, est un des précurseurs de l’apprentissage profond. En 1993, il fonde un laboratoire de recherche pour créer une communauté de chercheur·e·s de haut calibre, qui partagent la même vision éthique du développement et l’IA et un intérêt commun pour le développement d’une technologie au potentiel extraordinaire pour la société.

En 2017, Mila étend la portée de ses activités grâce à une collaboration entre l’Université de Montréal et l’Université McGill, en lien étroit avec Polytechnique Montréal et HEC Montréal. Il rassemble désormais une communauté de professeur·e·s, de chercheur·e·s étudiant.e.s (maîtrise, doctorat, postdoctorat, stagiaires, visiteurs), d’étudiant·e·s (maîtrise professionnelle, diplôme d’études supérieures spécialisées), de partenaires industriels et de jeunes entreprises œuvrant en IA.

Mila acquiert le statut d’OBNL en 2018. L’institut inaugure ses nouveaux locaux en 2019 dans un quartier effervescent tourné vers l’innovation : le Mile-Ex, à Montréal. La métropole est la première ville au Canada en recherche universitaire sur l’IA, avec un financement annuel de plus de 1,34 G$.

Mission, valeurs, piliers

Une mission unique en IA

Mila a pour mission d’être un pôle mondial d’avancées scientifiques qui inspire l’innovation et l’essor de l’IA au bénéfice de tous.

Mila accélère l’innovation autour de l’IA au bénéfice de toutes les collectivités.

Mila s’appuie sur des valeurs de collaboration, d’excellence et d’éthique.

Quatre piliers stratégiques

Mila est encadrée par quatre piliers stratégiques qui orientent ses décisions et son engagement.


Talent IA

Attirer, former et retenir au Québec un bassin diversifié de talents reconnus mondialement pour leur expertise.


Recherche de pointe

Réaliser les plus hauts niveaux de leadership dans la recherche scientifique en l’IA.


Influence sociale

Développer des perspectives sur le potentiel de l’IA et sur les enjeux reliés à son utilisation.


Adoption de l’IA

Contribuer à des partenariats, projets et initiatives afin d’accélérer le déploiement et l’adoption de l’IA.