Mila > News > PASQAL Joins Forces with Mila to Enhance Generative Modeling in Quantum AI

10 Jan 2024

PASQAL Joins Forces with Mila to Enhance Generative Modeling in Quantum AI

The partnership will leverage quantum benchmarking and tensor networks for generative AI while growing a quantum machine learning community

Sherbrooke, January 11, 2024 Mila is proud to welcome PASQAL, a global leader  in neutral atom quantum computing, in its partners community. This collaboration will be a first exploratory step towards enhancing generative modeling with quantum computing benchmarking and coupling with tensor networks.  

Adding to Mila’s vibrant community of nearly a dozen partners in the quantum space, this collaboration also aims to gather a community of researchers and companies at Mila around the topic of quantum machine learning. This is expected to be the start of future collaborative developments on the enhancement of AI by quantum technologies.

The one-year research plan mainly seeks to contribute to quantum computing and machine learning by deepening our understanding of the interplay between quantum concepts and structured data generation, to explore the potential quantum advantages in machine learning, and to develop novel generative models. Slimane Thabet, quantum application engineer at PASQAL joined Université de Montréal and Mila Professor Guillaume Rabusseau’s team as visiting researcher.

“This collaboration between Mila and PASQAL is an opportunity to explore and advance the intersection between quantum computing and machine learning. Together, we look forward to contributing to the ever-evolving landscape of AI and quantum innovation,” said Guillaume Rabusseau, Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Operations Research (DIRO) at Université de Montréal, Core Academic Member at Mila and Canada CIFAR AI Chair Mila, and principal investigator of this project

“Boosting machine learning algorithms by quantum shows great potential, and neutral atoms quantum computing brings promising ways to find short-term relevant approaches. We really believe that the impressive community of Mila’s ecosystem will contribute to deliver impactful results,” said Raphaël de Thoury, CEO of PASQAL-Canada.

About PASQAL

PASQAL is a leading French quantum computing company that builds quantum processors from ordered neutral atoms in 2D and 3D arrays to bring a practical quantum advantage to its customers and address real-world problems. PASQAL was founded in 2019, out of the Institut d’Optique, by Georges-Olivier Reymond, Christophe Jurczak, Professor Dr. Alain Aspect, Nobel Prize Laureate Physics, 2022, Dr. Antoine Browaeys, and Dr. Thierry Lahaye. PASQAL has secured more than €140 million in financing to date.  To learn more about PASQAL, visit  www.pasqal.com  

About Mila

Founded by Professor Yoshua Bengio of the University of Montreal, Mila is a research institute in artificial intelligence that now brings together over 1,200 specialized researchers in machine learning. Based in Montreal, Mila’s mission is to be a global center for scientific advancements that inspire innovation and the growth of AI for the benefit of all. Mila is a globally recognized non-profit organization for its significant contributions to deep learning, especially in the fields of language modeling, automatic translation, object recognition, and generative models. For more information, visit mila.quebec

Mila > Nouvelles > PASQAL se joint à Mila pour améliorer la modélisation générative en IA quantique

10 Jan 2024

PASQAL se joint à Mila pour améliorer la modélisation générative en IA quantique

Le partenariat utilisera l’étalonnage quantique et les réseaux tensoriels pour l’IA générative, tout en développant une communauté d’apprentissage automatique quantique.

Sherbrooke, le 11 janvier 2024 Mila est fier d’accueillir PASQAL, un chef de file mondial en informatique quantique à atomes neutres, dans sa communauté de partenaires. Cette collaboration sera une première étape exploratoire vers l’amélioration de la modélisation générative grâce à l’étalonnage de l’informatique quantique et au couplage avec les réseaux tensoriels.

Venant s’ajouter à la communauté dynamique de Mila qui regroupe une dizaine de partenaires dans l’espace quantique, cette collaboration vise également à rassembler une communauté de chercheurs et d’entreprises à Mila autour du thème de l’apprentissage automatique quantique. Elle sera un point de départ pour de futures collaborations sur l’amélioration de l’intelligence artificielle grâce aux technologies quantiques.

Le plan de recherche d’un an vise principalement à contribuer à l’informatique quantique et à l’apprentissage automatique en approfondissant notre compréhension de l’interaction entre les concepts quantiques et la génération de données structurées, à explorer les avantages quantiques potentiels de l’apprentissage automatique et à développer de nouveaux modèles génératifs. Slimane Thabet, ingénieur d’application quantique chez PASQAL, a rejoint l’équipe du professeur Guillaume Rabusseau de l’Université de Montréal et de Mila en tant que chercheur invité.

« Cette collaboration entre Mila et PASQAL est l’occasion d’explorer et de faire progresser l’intersection entre l’informatique quantique et l’apprentissage automatique. Ensemble, nous sommes enthousiastes à l’idée de contribuer aux domaines en constante évolution de l’IA et du quantique, » a déclaré Guillaume Rabusseau, professeur adjoint à l’Université de Montréal dans le Département d’informatique et de recherche opérationnelle (DIRO), membre académique principal de Mila et de la chaire CIFAR AI du Canada à Mila, et chercheur principal de ce projet.

« Le renforcement des algorithmes d’apprentissage automatique par l’informatique quantique présente un énorme potentiel, et l’informatique quantique à atomes neutres offre des moyens prometteurs de trouver des approches pertinentes à court terme. Nous sommes convaincus que l’impressionnante communauté de l’écosystème Mila contribuera à produire des résultats percutants, » a déclaré Raphaël de Thoury, PDG de PASQAL-Canada.

À propos de PASQAL

PASQAL est une entreprise française d’informatique quantique de premier plan qui construit des processeurs quantiques à partir d’atomes neutres ordonnés dans des réseaux 2D et 3D afin d’apporter un avantage quantique pratique à ses clients et de résoudre des problèmes du monde réel. PASQAL a été fondée en 2019, à partir de l’Institut d’Optique, par Georges-Olivier Reymond, Christophe Jurczak, le Professeur Dr. Alain Aspect, lauréat du Prix Nobel de Physique 2022, le Dr. Antoine Browaeys, et le Dr. PASQAL a obtenu plus de €140 millions de financement à ce jour.  Pour en savoir plus sur PASQAL, visitez www.pasqal.com.

À propos de Mila

Fondé par le professeur Yoshua Bengio de l’Université de Montréal, Mila est un institut de recherche en intelligence artificielle qui rassemble près de 1200 chercheurs spécialisés dans le domaine de l’apprentissage automatique. Basé à Montréal, Mila a pour mission d’être un pôle mondial d’avancées scientifiques qui inspire l’innovation et le développement de l’IA au bénéfice de tous. Mila est une organisation à but non lucratif reconnue mondialement pour ses importantes contributions au domaine de l’apprentissage profond, en particulier dans les domaines de la modélisation du langage, de la traduction automatique, de la reconnaissance d’objets et des modèles génératifs. Pour en savoir plus, visitez mila.quebec.