Mila > News > Amgen establishes a corporate lab at Mila, as the partnership between the two organizations grows
18 Jan 2023

Amgen establishes a corporate lab at Mila, as the partnership between the two organizations grows

MONTREAL, QC, (January 18, 2023) – Amgen, one of the world’s leading biotechnology companies, and Mila – Quebec Artificial Intelligence Institute, today announced the expansion of their partnership aimed at further transforming Artificial Intelligence (AI) guided drug development. As part of this evolution, Amgen is establishing a corporate laboratory within Mila’s headquarters where scientists from both organizations will interact and engage. Amgen and Mila have also agreed to collaborate on specific projects to enhance the way that machine learning is applied to the discovery and development of biologic therapeutics, projects in which Professor Yoshua Bengio, founder and scientific director of Mila, will participate. This announcement extends the partnership between the two organizations that began in 2021.

“We are very excited by this new step in our partnership with Mila”, said Peter Grandsard, Amgen’s Executive Director, CRADI (Center for Research Acceleration by Digital Innovation). “For Amgen, the establishment of a corporate lab at Mila, a model unique in the world, is a strong testament to the importance we attach to the work we are undertaking with Professor Bengio and the Mila team. These projects aim to develop advanced algorithms and models to support the discovery and optimization of biologics and will be carried out under an open science model.  They will not only have an impact on Amgen’s future therapeutic developments but will also benefit the entire scientific community involved in health innovations”, he added.  “In the months and years to come, we also expect to expand our collaboration with Mila to other challenges in therapeutic discovery.”

“We are proud of Amgen’s growing activities with Mila in Montreal, globally renowned for its AI expertise and leadership,” stated Ugur Gunaydin, General Manager of Amgen Canada. “Our goal with this collaboration is to continue to develop the next generation of therapeutics as we advance our mission to serve patients.” 

“We are delighted to announce this expanded partnership with Amgen, one of Mila’s major partners in the health field, which will help our respective teams work even better together to develop certain applications of machine learning in biotechnology.” said Stéphane Létourneau, Executive Vice-President of Mila.

About Amgen

As a leader in innovation, Amgen Canada understands the value of science. With main operations located in Mississauga, Ontario’s vibrant biomedical cluster, and its research facility in Burnaby, B.C., Amgen Canada has been an important contributor to advancements in science and innovation in Canada since 1991. The company contributes to the development of new therapies and new ways of using existing medicines in partnership with many of Canada’s leading healthcare, academic, research, government and patient organizations. To learn more about Amgen Canada, visit www.amgen.ca and follow us on Twitter.

About Mila

Founded by Professor Yoshua Bengio of the University of Montreal, Mila is an artificial intelligence research institute that brings together over 1,000 researchers specializing in machine learning. Based in Montreal, Mila’s mission is to be a global hub for scientific advances that inspire innovation and development of AI for the benefit of all. Mila is a non-profit organization recognized worldwide for its significant contributions to the field of deep learning, particularly in language modeling, machine translation, object recognition, and generative models. For more information, visit Mila.quebec.

CONTACT

Natasha Bond, Head of Corporate Affairs

Amgen Canada

905-285-3007

natasha.bond@amgen.com

Marc-Antoine Guérard, Communications Advisor

Mila – Quebec AI Institute 

marc-antoine.guerard@mila.quebec

Mila > Nouvelles > Amgen établit un laboratoire corporatif à Mila, alors que s’étend le partenariat entre les deux organisations
18 Jan 2023

Amgen établit un laboratoire corporatif à Mila, alors que s’étend le partenariat entre les deux organisations

MONTRÉAL, QC, (18 janvier, 2023) – Amgen, un leader mondial des biotechnologies, et Mila – Institut québécois d’intelligence artificielle, ont annoncé aujourd’hui l’élargissement de leur partenariat visant à pousser encore plus loin le développement de médicaments guidé par l’intelligence artificielle (IA). Dans le cadre de cette évolution, Amgen établit un laboratoire corporatif au sein du siège social de Mila, où les scientifiques des deux organisations interagiront et collaboreront. Amgen et Mila ont également convenu de travailler conjointement sur des projets spécifiques visant à faire progresser la manière dont l’apprentissage automatique est appliqué à la découverte et au développement de thérapies biologiques, projets auxquels participera le professeur Yoshua Bengio, fondateur et directeur scientifique de Mila. Cette annonce prolonge le partenariat entre les deux organisations qui a débuté en 2021.

« Nous sommes très heureux de cette nouvelle étape de notre partenariat avec Mila », a déclaré Peter Grandsard, directeur exécutif, CRADI (Centre d’accélération de la recherche par l’innovation digitale). « Pour Amgen, l’établissement d’un laboratoire corporatif à Mila, un modèle unique au monde, est un témoignage fort de l’importance que nous accordons au travail que nous entreprenons avec le professeur Bengio et l’équipe de Mila. Ces projets visent à développer des algorithmes et des modèles avancés pour soutenir la découverte et l’optimisation des produits biologiques et seront menés dans le cadre d’un modèle de science ouverte. Ils auront non seulement un impact sur les futurs développements thérapeutiques d’Amgen mais bénéficieront également à l’ensemble de la communauté scientifique œuvrant dans la mise au point des innovations en matière de santé », a-t-il ajouté.  « Dans les mois et les années à venir, nous prévoyons également élargir notre collaboration avec Mila à d’autres défis en matière de découverte thérapeutique. »

« Nous sommes fiers des activités croissantes d’Amgen avec Mila à Montréal, mondialement reconnu pour son expertise et son leadership en matière d’IA », a déclaré Ugur Gunaydin, directeur général d’Amgen Canada. « Notre objectif avec cette collaboration est de continuer à développer la prochaine génération de produits thérapeutiques tout en faisant progresser notre mission de servir les patients. »

« Nous nous réjouissons de cette nouvelle entente avec Amgen, l’un des partenaires majeurs de Mila dans le domaine de la santé, qui permettra à nos équipes respectives de travailler encore mieux ensemble au développement de certaines applications de l’apprentissage automatique dans le domaine de la biotechnologie. » a déclaré Stéphane Létourneau, vice-président exécutif de Mila. 

À propos d’Amgen

En tant que chef de file en innovation, Amgen Canada comprend bien la valeur de la science. Depuis son siège social situé à Mississauga, où sont rassemblées bon nombre des entreprises du secteur biomédical effervescent de l’Ontario, et de son centre de recherche de Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique, Amgen Canada s’emploie à faire avancer les sciences et l’innovation au Canada depuis 1991. En partenariat avec de nombreux et importants établissements de soins de santé, universités, centres de recherche de pointe, organismes gouvernementaux et groupes de patients du Canada, Amgen participe au développement de nouveaux médicaments et de nouvelles applications de médicaments existants. Pour en savoir plus sur Amgen Canada, visitez le www.amgen.ca et suivez-nous sur Twitter

À propos de Mila

Fondé par le professeur Yoshua Bengio de l’Université de Montréal, Mila est un institut de recherche en intelligence artificielle qui rassemble aujourd’hui plus de 1000 chercheur·e·s spécialisé·e·s en apprentissage automatique. Basé à Montréal, Mila a pour mission d’être un pôle mondial d’avancées scientifiques qui inspire l’innovation et l’essor de l’IA au bénéfice de tous. Mila est une organisation à but non lucratif reconnue mondialement pour ses importantes contributions au domaine de l’apprentissage profond, en particulier dans les domaines de la modélisation du langage, de la traduction automatique, de la reconnaissance d’objets et des modèles générateurs. 

CONTACT

Natasha Bond, cheffe, Affaires de l’entreprise

Amgen Canada

905-285-3007

natasha.bond@amgen.com

Marc-Antoine Guérard, Conseiller aux communications

Mila – Institut québécois d’intelligence artificielle

marc-antoine.guerard@mila.quebec