20 Mar 2020

Mila and its partners rally the scientific community to develop novel data-driven solutions to assist with COVID-19 outbreak

In light of the challenges that COVID-19 presents to our society, Mila is bringing its machine learning expertise to the scientific community together with its partners across different disciplines to help find potential solutions.

The primary objective of the Mila AI taskforce is to bring together an interdisciplinary team of researchers in machine learning, bioinformatics, immunology, virology and vaccine design to create open source, data-driven tools that could be deployed in current and future outbreaks.

“The COVID-19 crisis gives us an opportunity and a profound motivation to act selflessly and together for the common good, collaborating with the only objective to quickly save as many lives as possible,” says Yoshua Bengio, scientific director of Mila. “Let us remember that spirit when, hopefully, we go back to more normal lives. That spirit is also the spirit of science, where the focus is on the joy of understanding, sharing and discovering solutions together.”

Many researchers and partners in our network are interested in participating in projects to fight COVID-19. In an effort to coordinate, they have identified at least 5 primary research axes against which they are already progressing:

Peer-to-peer AI-based tracing of COVID-19
The objective of this project led by Yoshua Bengio is to make confinement more efficient by being selective, i.e., allowing the people at lower risk to be under less constraints while putting stronger isolation pressure on those at high risk of being contagious. The project is going at full speed with two dozen people involved to develop a tracing app for Canada and Quebec, with a ML component to predict a person’s probability of having the disease based on contact history and medical information. The project has a strong focus on privacy (aiming at peer-to-peer communication to avoid a central repository of individuals’ movements) and relies on worldwide open-source efforts going on to develop the required building blocks. 

Omic profiling of COVID-19 progression mechanisms
Guy Wolf (UdeM) and Irina Rish (UdeM), professors at Mila, are leading this project which leverages data analysis tools to provide mechanistic understanding of the COVID-19 disease progression in order to assess risk of given medical/patient profiles, as well as to help identify binding targets for antiviral agents and potential vaccines. The researchers are looking for proteomic and transcriptomic data together with meta information that will enable them to disentangle the impact of age, gender, and other biomedical factors on the interaction and severity of the COVID-19 disease. One example of an active research question is to understand the apparent resilience of young children to severe infection, which is somewhat atypical for such epidemics.

Data-efficient deep learning to better model emerging biology
Led by Sébastien Giguère from InVivo AI. The COVID-19 outbreak offers a solemn reminder of how little we know about emerging biology. Novel algorithms are needed for these types of data poor environments. Launched in 2018, InVivo AI is developing novel algorithms capable of learning from small and noisy datasets. In light of the COVID-19 outbreak, the startup is leveraging their platform to learn models of pathways in the immune system to better predict immune response. The team is working on modeling proteasomal cleavage, TAP transport, antigen binding to MHC, antigen processing to the cell surface and recognition of MHC-antigen complexes by T-Cells and B-cells, with the goal of providing insight into immunogenic regions of the virus.

Machine learning for therapeutics discovery
The teams of Yoshua Bengio (UdeM), Jian Tang (HEC Montréal) and graduate student Maksym Korablyov (UdeM), have developed a deep reinforcement learning system which can quickly evaluate billions of candidate molecules. The approach can gradually modify the molecular structure by adding or removing building blocks in order to converge toward new molecular structures that can bind a target protein. The Mila team is looking for collaborators with expertise in deep reinforcement learning and in drug discovery to help with their research.

Mapping the Landscape of AI + COVID-19
Sasha Luccioni (UdeM), postdoctoral researcher at Mila and her team are working with researchers from UN Global Pulse to map the landscape of current and proposed research papers that use AI to counter the COVID-19 pandemic. The article, which will be published on March 23rd, covers the many facets of the crisis, including molecular modeling, epidemiology and diagnosis, in order to pinpoint the most impactful ways in which AI can be used and the approaches that are being explored.

Leveraging AI to Answer COVID-19 Questions
Mila is partnering up with Dialogue and Nuance Communications in order to create an AI-driven question answering system to reduce the demand on government helplines and staff at the Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services. The project involves creating a chatbot (first written, then spoken) that is able to answer questions using the information found on the Quebec.ca website, which is updated regularly. Click here to help train the chatbot.

Data Mining of COVID-19 Related Tweets
Led by Reihaneh Rabbany (McGill), professor at Mila, this research project aims to analyse mentions of COVID-19 in Twitter, in order to discover temporal and spatial trends as well as common mentions and keywords linked to the phenomena surrounding the global pandemic.

“This is an exceptional situation that requires exceptional means, and AI can contribute greatly to many of the efforts deployed to mitigate this crisis,” said Valérie Pisano, President and CEO of Mila. “Mila’s resources will be made available to support this effort led by researchers, start-ups and organisations here in Québec and around the world.”

Among Mila’s partners contributing to this effort, Element AI is sharing access to its computing resources (GPUs, CPUs, Storage) to facilitate and accelerate ongoing research and investigations by Mila and InVivo AI.

Even though several researchers have already demonstrated their interest and have begun to get involved in the projects, we are seeking additional collaborators from all areas of computer science and health sciences to strengthen these projects. To join the effort, you are encouraged to reachout at: https://forms.gle/DnhQar6W8hYbwjBH9

Researchers who are working on a project involving COVID-19 and who would like support from the AI community are also encouraged to contact the same email address.

—————————————-

Media contact
Vincent Martineau
Head, Communications and Media Relations
vincent.martineau@mila.quebec
+1 (514) 914-5757

—————————————-

About Mila
Founded in 1993 by Professor Yoshua Bengio, Mila rallies the highest academic concentration of research and development in deep and reinforcement learning. Since 2017, Mila is the result of a partnership between the Université de Montréal and McGill University with Polytechnique Montréal and HEC Montréal. Mila is a unique space for innovation in artificial intelligence that uses interactions with industry and fosters the emergence of start-ups while integrating the social impacts of the technology into its projects. https://mila.quebec/

About InVivo AI 
Founded in 2018, InVivo AI is developing novel computational methods for drug design. In collaboration with both industry and academic partners, InVivo AI leverages their technologies to design drug-like molecules predicted to satisfy key criteria, enabling rapid and cost effective iteration towards novel drug candidates. https://www.invivoai.com

About Element AI
Element AI is a global developer of AI software that helps people and machines work smarter, together. Founded in 2016 by serial entrepreneurs including JF Gagné and A.M.Turing Award recipient, Yoshua Bengio, PhD, Element AI turns cutting-edge research and industry expertise into software solutions that exponentially learn and improve. Element AI maintains a strong connection to academia through research collaborations and takes a leadership position in policymaking around the impact of technology on society. https://www.elementai.com

array(1) { ["wp-wpml_current_language"]=> string(2) "en" }

20 Mar 2020

Mila et ses partenaires rallient la communauté scientifique pour soutenir la lutte contre l’épidémie de COVID-19 à l’aide de nouvelles solutions basées sur des données

À la lumière des défis que la COVID-19 représente pour notre société, Mila offre son expertise en apprentissage automatique à la communauté scientifique, conjointement avec ses partenaires issus de différentes disciplines, afin de contribuer à la création de nouvelles solutions potentielles.

L’objectif principal du groupe de travail en IA de Mila est de créer une équipe interdisciplinaire de chercheurs en apprentissage automatique, en bio-informatique, en immunologie, en virologie et en conception de vaccins pour créer des outils à code ouvert, basés sur les données, qui pourraient être déployés dans le cadre des épidémies actuelles et futures.

« La crise de la COVID-19 nous offre une motivation profonde à agir de manière solidaire et à travailler ensemble pour le bien commun, en collaborant avec l’unique objectif de sauver autant de vies que possible, explique Yoshua Bengio, directeur scientifique de Mila. Souvenons-nous de cet esprit de collaboration quand, espérons-le, nous retrouverons une vie plus normale. Cet esprit, c’est aussi celui de la science, où l’accent est mis sur la joie de comprendre, de partager et de découvrir ensemble des solutions. »

De nombreux chercheurs et partenaires de notre réseau ont manifesté leur intérêt à participer à des projets de lutte contre la COVID-19. Dans un effort de concertation et de coordination, ils ont identifié au moins 5 axes de recherche principaux dans lesquels ils progressent déjà :

Profilage omiques des mécanismes de progression de la COVID-19
Guy Wolf (UdeM) et Irina Rish (UdeM), professeurs à Mila, dirigent ce projet qui s’appuie sur des outils d’analyse de données pour fournir une compréhension mécaniste de la progression du virus COVID-19 afin d’évaluer le risque de profils médicaux et de patients donnés, ainsi que pour aider à identifier les cibles de liaison pour les agents antiviraux et les vaccins potentiels. Les chercheurs recherchent des données protéomiques et transcriptomiques ainsi que des méta-informations qui leur permettront d’évaluer l’impact de l’âge, du sexe et d’autres facteurs biomédicaux sur l’interaction hôte pathogène et la gravité de la COVID-19. Un exemple de question de recherche active consiste à comprendre la résilience apparente des jeunes enfants à une infection grave, ce qui est quelque peu atypique pour de telles épidémies.

Apprentissage profond avec peu de données pour mieux modéliser la biologie émergente
Projet dirigé par Sébastien Giguère de InVivo AI. L’épidémie de COVID-19 nous rappelle le peu de connaissances que nous avons de la biologie émergente. De nouveaux algorithmes d’apprentissage sont nécessaires pour ces types d’environnements où les données se font rares. Lancée en 2018, InVivo AI développe de nouveaux algorithmes capables d’apprendre à partir d’ensembles de données petits et bruités. À la lumière de l’épidémie de COVID-19, la start-up exploite sa plateforme pour apprendre des modèles des voies de signalisation du système immunitaire afin de mieux prédire la réponse immunitaire. L’équipe travaille sur la modélisation du clivage protéasomal, le  transporteur associé à la présentation d’antigènes (TAP, « transporter associated with antigen processing »), la liaison du CMH (complexe majeur d’histocompatibilité) aux antigènes, les cellules présentatrices de l’antigène et la reconnaissance des complexes CMH-antigène par les lymphocytes T et B, dans le but d’identifier les régions immunogènes des virus.

L’apprentissage machine pour la découverte thérapeutique 
Les équipes de Yoshua Bengio (UdeM), de Jian Tang (HEC Montréal) et de l’étudiant-chercheur Maksym Korablyov (UdeM), ont développé un système d’apprentissage par renforcement profond qui permet d’évaluer rapidement des milliards de molécules candidates. Cette approche permet de modifier progressivement la structure moléculaire en ajoutant ou en retirant des éléments constitutifs afin de découvrir de nouvelles structures moléculaires capables de se lier à une protéine cible. L’équipe Mila recherche des collaborateurs spécialisés dans l’apprentissage par renforcement profond et dans la découverte de médicaments pour contribuer à ce projet.

Cartographie de l’écosystème IA + COVID-19 
Sasha Luccioni (UdeM), chercheuse postdoctorale à Mila, travaille avec des chercheurs de UN Global Pulse pour recenser le corpus de recherche actuel sur l’utilisation de l’IA pour contrer la pandémie de COVID-19. L’article, qui sera publié le 23 mars, couvre les nombreuses facettes de la crise, incluant la modélisation moléculaire, l’épidémiologie et le diagnostic, afin d’identifier les façons les plus efficaces d’utiliser l’IA ainsi que les approches qui sont explorées.

Utiliser l’IA pour répondre aux questions relatives à la COVID-19
Mila s’est associée à Dialogue et Nuance Communications pour créer un système de réponse aux questions basé sur l’IA afin de réduire la demande des lignes d’assistance du gouvernement et du personnel du ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec. Le projet consiste à créer un agent conversationnel, (d’abord écrit, puis parlé) capable de répondre aux questions en utilisant les informations trouvées sur le site Internet Quebec.ca, qui est mis à jour régulièrement. Cliquez ici pour participer à la formation de l’agent (chatbot).

Exploration de données sur les Tweets liés à la COVID-19
Dirigé par Reihaneh Rabbany (McGill), professeure à Mila, ce projet de recherche vise à analyser les mentions de la COVID-19 sur Twitter, dans le but de découvrir les tendances temporelles et spatiales, de même que les mentions et les mots-clés communs liés aux phénomènes entourant la pandémie mondiale.

« Il s’agit d’une situation exceptionnelle qui nécessite des moyens exceptionnels, et l’IA peut grandement contribuer aux nombreux efforts déployés pour atténuer cette crise, a déclaré Valérie Pisano, présidente et directrice générale de Mila. Les ressources de Mila seront mises à disposition pour soutenir cet effort mené par des chercheurs, des entreprises en démarrage et des organisations ici au Québec et dans le monde ».

Parmi les partenaires de Mila qui contribuent à cet effort, Element AI partage l’accès à ses ressources informatiques (GPU, CPU, stockage) pour faciliter et accélérer les recherches et les investigations en cours menées par Mila et InVivo AI.

Bien que plusieurs chercheurs ont déjà manifesté leur intérêt et ont commencé à s’impliquer dans les projets, nous recherchons toujours des collaborateurs dans tous les domaines de l’informatique et des sciences de la santé pour renforcer ces projets. Pour vous joindre à cet effort, nous vous encourageons à nous contacter via ce formulaire.

Les chercheurs qui travaillent sur un projet impliquant COVID-19 et qui souhaiteraient obtenir le soutien de la communauté IA sont également invités à nous contacter en utilisant la même adresse électronique.

——————-

Contact Médias
Vincent Martineau
Chef, Communications et relations médias
vincent.martineau@mila.quebec
+1 (514) 914-5757

———————

À propos de Mila
Fondé en 1993 par le professeur Yoshua Bengio de l’Université de Montréal, Mila rassemble des chercheurs spécialisés dans le domaine de l’apprentissage profond et par renforcement. Depuis 2017, Mila est le fruit d’une collaboration entre l’Université de Montréal et l’Université McGill, en lien étroit avec Polytechnique Montréal et HEC Montréal. Mila crée un espace unique d’innovation en intelligence artificielle et de transfert de technologies qui mettra à profit les interactions avec l’industrie et suscitera l’émergence de start-ups tout en intégrant les impacts sociaux des technologies dans ses projets. https://mila.quebec/

À propos d’InVivo AI
Fondée en 2018, InVivo AI développe de nouvelles méthodes pour la conception computationnelle de médicaments. En collaboration avec des partenaires industriels et universitaires, InVivo AI exploite ses technologies pour concevoir des molécules thérapeutiques, lesquelles devraient répondre à des critères clés, ce qui permet une itération rapide et à plus faible coût vers de nouveaux candidats thérapeutiques. https://www.invivoai.com/

À propos d’Element AI
Element AI est un développeur mondial de logiciels d’IA qui aident les personnes et les machines à travailler plus intelligemment, ensemble. Fondée en 2016 par des entrepreneurs en série, dont JF Gagné et le lauréat du prix A.M.Turing, Yoshua Bengio, PhD, Element AI transforme la recherche de pointe et l’expertise industrielle en solutions logicielles qui apprennent et s’améliorent de façon exponentielle. Element AI maintient un lien étroit avec le monde universitaire par le biais de collaborations de recherche et prend une position de leader dans l’élaboration de politiques concernant l’impact de la technologie sur la société. https://www.elementai.com

array(1) { ["wp-wpml_current_language"]=> string(2) "fr" }

Mila passe en mode virtuel

À partir du 16 mars 2020, Mila redirige ses activités vers des plateformes virtuelles afin de minimiser la diffusion de COVID-19.

En savoir plus