Study at Mila

Welcome to Mila

Mila is a place of collaboration and a meeting point for the main players in artificial intelligence in Montreal. Our mission is to build a global pole of scientific advances that inspires innovation and the rise of artificial intelligence for the benefit of all.

Mila brings together more than 450 students, professors, experienced researchers and artificial intelligence professionals at its Mile-Ex offices.

Learn more

About Mila

Mila is a unique research institute. We welcome interns (part-time or full-time), master’s students, doctoral students (including visitors) and post-docs from the Université de Montréal, de l’Université McGill, de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal et de HEC Montréal, all supervised by the professors who are members of Mila.

Important

To study at Mila, one must first be supervised by one of the professors who are members of Mila. Requests for supervision are made via a Mila application form, while registrations are administered by the universities themselves.

Admission Dates

Keep an eye on the admission dates for each institution at the following addresses to ensure you complete your application in a timely manner:

Our Professors

Mila has the largest concentration of university researchers in Deep Learning on one campus.

How to Present a Supervision Request for a Mila Research Program

The Mila supervision request is a service offered to facilitate the selection and matching of Mila professors to applicants, but it does not preclude other ways by which applicants and professors can find each other.

  • The Mila Supervision Request Form allows you to submit an application to a professor who is a member of Mila at University of Montreal, McGill University, École Polytechnique and / or HEC Montréal.
  • You can select up to 3 professors, regardless of their university or affiliated school.
  • Registration at the university is done through several stages coordinated with the faculty members. Make sure you complete the registration process for the selected university or affiliated school.
  • If you submit requests to professors from different universities and / or affiliated schools, you must complete the registration process specific to each of these universities and / or schools.

Research Programs


Post-doc

We accept Post-Docs all year long. There is no deadline. Please contact the professors of interest after having posted your application.

Fill the form


PhD

The deadline for PhD application is Dec 15th. We will notify the accepted applicants in January. If the applicant was not selected they will be notified in March.

Fill the form


Masters of Science

The deadline for M.Sc. application is Dec 15th. We will notify the accepted applicants in January. If the applicant was not selected they will be notified in March.

Fill the form


Internships

We accept Interns all year long. There is no deadline. Please contact the professors of interest after having posted your application.

Fill the form

PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS


Professional Masters

The deadline for Professional Masters application is Dec 15th. We will notify the accepted applicants in January.

Fill the form


D.E.S.S. in Machine Learning

The deadline for D.E.S.S. application is Dec 15th. We will notify the accepted applicants in January.

Fill the form

Humanitarian AI internships and post-doc positions

Towards the beneficial and responsible development of AI, Mila intends to increase research targeted at humanitarian applications and make it easier for students from developing countries to gain experience at Mila as part of an internship (typically 3 to 6 months). If you are interested in a post-doctoral position targeted at humanitarian applications or if these internships interest you, please fill the application form for post-docs or the one for interns below and then send an e-mail to Kris Sankaran at sankaran.kris@gmail.com.

Our students

Mila is proud to attract talent from around the world. The values of equality, inclusion and diversity are at the heart of Mila’s vision. They are part of our social commitment to share knowledge for the common good, across borders and socio-economic boundaries.

Students at PhD and postdoc levels are expected to already have strong exposure to machine learning, and preferably to deep learning. A strong background in mathematics (probability, linear algebra, numerical optimization, statistics) and computer science (numerical computation, open source software development) is expected at all levels. Postdoc levels candidates typically already have a strong track record in deep learning itself.

At the end of your Mila supervision, you will graduate from one of the partner universities and / or affiliated schools.

The Mila Values

The Mila values are the cornerstone of our community, our vision and they feed our DNA. They guide each of our decisions; from recruitment to the projects we undertake.

Academic Freedom

Excellence and Academic Rigor

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Humanism, Ethics and Social Conscience

Openness, Collaboration and Transparency

Democracy and Collegiality

Learn More


FAQ


Training Programs


Courses

Étudier à Mila

Bienvenue à Mila

Mila est lieu de collaboration et un point de rencontre entre les principaux acteurs de l’intelligence artificielle à Montréal. Notre mission est de bâtir un pôle mondial d’avancées scientifiques qui inspire l’innovation et l’essor de l’intelligence artificielle au bénéfice de tous. 

Mila réunit dans ses locaux du Mile-Ex plus de 450 étudiants, professeurs, chercheurs chevronnés et professionnels en intelligence artificielle.

En savoir plus

Étudier à Mila

Mila est un institut de recherche unique en son genre. Nous accueillons des stagiaires (temps partiel ou temps plein), des étudiants à la maîtrise, des étudiants au doctorat (incluant les visiteurs) et des post-doctorants de l’Université de Montréal, de l’Université McGill, de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal et de HEC Montréal, tous supervisés par des professeurs membres de Mila.

Important

Pour étudier à Mila, il faut préalablement être supervisé par l’un des professeurs membres de Mila. Les demandes de supervision se font via un formulaire de demande Mila, tandis que les inscriptions sont administrées par les universités elles-mêmes.  

Dates d’admission

Surveillez bien les dates d’admission de chaque institution aux adresses suivantes afin de vous assurer de compléter votre demande dans les délais requis :

Nos professeurs

Mila a la plus grande concentration de chercheurs universitaires en apprentissage profond sur un même campus.

Comment présenter une demande de supervision à un programme de recherche Mila

La demande de supervision Mila est un service offert aux professeurs et candidats de Mila pour faciliter la sélection et la correspondance des uns avec les autres, sans toutefois exclure d’autres moyens permettant aux candidats et aux professeurs d’entrer en contact. 

  • Le formulaire de demande de supervision à Mila vous permet de soumettre une demande à un des professeurs membres de Mila à l’Université de Montréal, à l’Université McGill, à l’École Polytechnique et/ou à HEC Montréal. 
  • Vous pouvez sélectionner jusqu’à 3 professeurs, et ce peu importe leur université ou école affiliée. 
  • L’inscription à l’université se fait par plusieurs étapes coordonnées avec les facultés. Assurez-vous de compléter le processus d’inscription correspondant à l’université ou école affiliée choisie. 
  • Si vous soumettez des demandes à des professeurs de différentes universités et/ou écoles affiliées, vous devez compléter le processus d’inscription propre à chacune de ces universités et/ou écoles.

Programmes de recherche


Post-doc

Nous acceptons les post-docs toute l’année. Il n’ y a pas de date limite. Contactez les professeurs visés après avoir déposé votre dossier.

Remplir le formulaire


Doctorat

La date limite pour les demandes de doctorat est le 15 décembre. Nous informerons les candidats acceptés en janvier. Si le candidat n’ a pas été sélectionné, il en sera informé en mars.

Remplir le formulaire


Maîtrise en sciences

La date limite pour les demande de Maîtrise est le 15 décembre. Nous informerons les candidats acceptés en janvier. Si le candidat n’ a pas été sélectionné, il en sera informé en mars.

Remplir le formulaire


Stages

Nous acceptons les stagiaires toute l’année. Il n’ y a pas de date limite. Contactez les professeurs visés après avoir déposé votre dossier.

Remplir le formulaire

Programmes professionnels


Maîtrise professionnelle

La date limite pour les demandes de Maîtrise Professionnelle est le 15 décembre. Nous informerons les candidats acceptés en janvier.

Remplir le formulaire


D.E.S.S en apprentissage automatique

La date limite pour les demandes de D.E.S.S. est le 15 décembre. Nous informerons les candidats acceptés en janvier.

Remplir le formulaire

Stages et post-doctorats en IA humanitaire

Afin de favoriser le développement responsable et bénéfique de l’IA, le MILA veut augmenter ses recherches visant des applications humanitaires et faciliter la venue d’étudiants des pays en voie de développement qui peuvent acquérir une expérience précieuse au MILA lors d’un stage (habituellement de 3 à 6 mois).

Si vous êtes intéressés à un tel poste post-doctoral ou à un de ces stages, veuillez remplir le formulaire associé au programme choisi (ci-dessus), et ensuite écrire à Kris Sankaran à sankaran.kris@gmail.com.

Nos étudiants

Mila est fier d’attirer des talents de partout à travers le monde. Les valeurs d’égalité, d’inclusion et de diversité sont au coeur de la vision de Mila. Elles s’inscrivent dans notre engagement social visant le partage du savoir pour le bien commun, au-delà des frontières et des limites socio-économiques.

Il est attendu des doctorants et post-doctorants qu’ils possèdent une bonne connaissance de l’apprentissage machine et/ou de l’apprentissage profond. Au niveau post-doctoral, la plupart des candidats ont déjà un bon dossier de publication en apprentissage profond. Finalement, les candidats à tous les niveaux devraient avoir un fort bagage mathématique (probabilités, algèbre linéaire, optimisations numériques, statistiques) et informatique (analyse numérique, développement de logiciels à code source ouvert).

À la fin de votre parcours à Mila, vous serez diplômé de l’une des universités partenaires et/ou écoles affiliées.

Les valeurs Mila

Les valeurs Mila sont la pierre d’assise de notre communauté, de notre vision et elles alimentent notre ADN. Elles guident chacune de nos décisions; du recrutement aux projets que nous entreprenons. 

Liberté académique

Excellence et rigueur académique

Diversité, équité et inclusion

Humanisme, éthique et conscience sociale

Ouverture, collaboration et transparence

Démocratie et collégialité

En savoir plus


Programmes de formation