29 Nov 2019

Special Events Coordinator (freelancer)

About Mila

Founded by Professor Yoshua Bengio of the University of Montreal, Mila brings together researchers specializing in artificial intelligence and more specifically in machine learning, deep learning and reinforcement learning. Recognized globally for its significant contributions to the field of deep learning, Mila has distinguished itself in language modeling, machine translation, object recognition and generative models. Since 2017, Mila is the result of a collaboration between the Université de Montréal and McGill University, in close collaboration with Polytechnique Montréal and HEC Montréal.

Your main functions

We are looking for a candidate to collaborate on the organization of the Deep Learning and Reinforcement Learning Summer School (2020 edition) to be held in Montreal. https://dlrlsummerschool.ca. Launched in 2005 by CIFAR Fellows, the DLRLSS has become the AI ​​Training Event of the Year, with the world’s brightest graduate students, post-docs, professionals and researchers coming together for 9 days of classes, collaborations and networking.

DLRLSS in figures: 1256 applications received from 75 countries – 300 students accepted from 36 different countries.

This mandate is for a period of 8 months. Flexible schedule of 20 hours / week from January to March and 35 hours / week for April-August.

  • Prepare a work schedule
  • Develop an action plan for the conference
  • Establish a budget estimate and update it during the mandate
  • Work with CIFAR and the Vector and Amii institutes to organize the event
  • Manage the various stages of organization: – program development – booking of speakers – review application requests – define the process of selection of participants – manage the website of the event – manage the logistical aspects of the conference (location, audio-visual needs, setting up, catering, social evenings)
  • Assist the Mila Event Manager in any other task related to the conference
Qualifications sought
  • Hold a Bachelor’s degree in Communication, Event Management or any other relevant field
  • Possess a minimum of 5 years experience in event organization (experience of at least 3 major events)
  • Have good interpersonal skills
  • French and English proficiency (bilingual), both oral and written
  • Efficiency, creativity and integrity

Please contact jobs@mila.quebec for recruitment.

Mila is a fair employer and diversity is important to us. We value the development of team ideas and cultivate an open and respectful work environment. We encourage all applicants to apply, however only those selected will be contacted. Thank you for your interest in Mila!

29 Nov 2019

Coordonnateur (trice) événements spéciaux (pigiste)

 

À propos de Mila

Fondé par le professeur Yoshua Bengio de l’Université de Montréal, Mila rassemble des chercheurs spécialisés en intelligence artificielle et plus précisément en apprentissage automatique, apprentissage profond et apprentissage par renforcement. Reconnu mondialement pour ses importantes contributions au domaine de l’apprentissage profond, Mila s’est particulièrement distingué dans la modélisation du langage, la traduction automatique, la reconnaissance d’objets et les modèles génératifs. Depuis 2017, Mila est le fruit d’une collaboration entre l’Université de Montréal et l’Université McGill, en lien étroit avec Polytechnique Montréal et HEC Montréal.

Vos principales fonctions

Nous sommes à la recherche d’un ou d’une candidate pour collaborer à l’organisation du Deep Learning and Reinforcement Learning Summer School (édition 2020) qui se tiendra à Montréal. Lancé en 2005 par des boursiers du CIFAR, le Le DLRLSS est devenu l’événement de formation AI de l’année, avec les étudiants diplômés, post-doctorants, professionnels et chercheurs les plus brillants au monde se réunissant pour 9 jours de cours, de collaborations et de réseautage.

DLRLSS en chiffres: 1256 demandes d’application reçues de 75 pays – 300 étudiants acceptés de 36 pays différents.

  • Ce mandat est d’une durée de 8 mois. Horaire flexible de 20 h/semaine de janvier à mars et 35 h/semaine pour avril-août.
  • Préparer un échéancier de travail
  • Élaborer un plan d’action pour la réalisation de la conférence
  • Établir un budget prévisionnel et le mettre à jour pendant le mandat
  • Travailler de concert avec CIFAR et les instituts Vector et Amii pour organiser l’événement
  • Gérer les différentes étapes d’organisation : – élaboration du programme – réservation des conférenciers – réviser les demandes d’application – définir le processus de sélection des participants – gérer le site web de l’événement – gérer les aspects logistiques de la conférence (lieu, besoins audio-visuels, mise en place, traiteur, soirées sociales)
  • Épauler la gestionnaire d’événements du Mila dans toute autre tâche reliée à la conférence
Qualifications recherchées
  • Détenir un baccalauréat en communication, gestion événementielle ou tout autre domaine pertinent
  • Posséder un minimum de 5 ans d’expérience en organisation événementielle (expérience d’au moins 3 événements de grande envergure)
  • Avoir de bonnes habiletés relationnelles
  • Excellente maîtrise du français et de l’anglais (bilingue), tant à l’oral qu’à l’écrit
  • Efficacité, créativité et intégrité

Les candidatures peuvent être envoyées à carrieres@mila.quebec .

Mila est un employeur équitable et la diversité lui tient à cœur. Nous valorisons le développement d’idées en équipe et cultivons un environnement de travail ouvert et respectueux des différences. Le masculin est utilisé uniquement dans le but d’alléger le texte. Nous encourageons tous les candidats et toutes les candidates à postuler, cependant seules les personnes sélectionnées seront contactées. Merci de votre intérêt envers Mila !